HL7

Hello everyone,

I want to create an mediator for OpenHIM allowing OpenMRS to sent and receive HL7 message
from any system going through OpenHIM.

And since i’m still a beginner does anyone have advice or pointers for me

best regards

Sabri Barbaria

Hi Sabri.

There is a wide range of HL7 message types (e.g. patient admissions, clinical observations, lab orders, drug dispenses, etc.) and versions (e.g. HL7v2, HL7v3, HL7 FHIR). Are there particular combinations of HL7 message type and version you are interested in?

It might be helpful to frame the message exchange within the context of one or more user stories. I’ve recently learned about a formal, but easy-to-use language for representing such stories: gherkin (info can be found here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cucumber_(software)). The gist of gherkin is that user stories follow a rudimentary pattern:

Given

When

Then

Some of us in the OpenHIE communities are experimenting with gherkin as a way to describe our workflows. One advantage to this approach is that there are software test automation tools which can parse gherkin and help turn user stories into executable conformance test scripts. (We are still early in this process… but it looks like it could hold promise.)

Whether you favour using gherkin or some other format, my sense is that user stories would be extremely helpful to you at this stage. I’m sure, if you can express a few key stories that are most important to you, there will be teammates in the Implementers’ Community who can suggest ways to move forward with developing mediators to “bring them to life”.

Warmest regards,

Derek.

Derek Ritz, P.Eng, CPHIMS-CA

ecGroup Inc.

+1 (905) 515-0045

This communication is intended only for the party to whom it is addressed, and may contain information which is privileged or confidential. Any other delivery, distribution, copying or disclosure is strictly prohibited and is not a waiver of privilege or confidentiality.

···